John Doe

Standard

Check out this eerie, summarizing speech from the show:

“I woke up on an island off the coast of Seattle. I didn’t know how I got there … or who I was. But I did seem to know everything else. There were things about me I didn’t understand … the brand, being colorblind, extreme claustrophobia. And while my gifts provided answers for others, I still search for my own. My name is John Doe.”

Awesome, right?

Basically John Doe knows nothing about his past, but everything about the world around him: obscure information, random facts.  Doe partners up with local police to help solve cases while trying to solve the ultimate case- the one of his own identity. On occasion, Doe will see in color despite his usual inability to see color.

The 21 episodes of “John Doe” end in a SHOCKING twist. I literally said “What the f…” out loud. Seriously, out loud. Sadly, the show did not continue for a second season and fans went crazy looking for an explanation for the surprising twist. I admit, I did as well. The eventual solutions given by the shows producers leave a lot to be desired and are honestly quite dumb. If you end up watching this show on Hulu (and I really think you should), just let the ending blow your mind.

You’ll recognize the main police officer, Frank, as the father from “Smart Guy.” And while I’ve never watched it, apparently the plot of “Kyle XY” is very similar to “John Doe” and the two are even linked on wikipedia.

I give this show 9 stars!

Leave a Reply

