Buffy the Vampire Slayer (Season 1)

Standard

Hulu is currently offering the entire first season of “Buffy the Vampire Slayer” until September 30.

“Buffy the Vampire Slayer” first comes from the movie of the same title that was written as a parody of horror movies.  The original script for the film was written by Joss Whedon, who then created the darker and more acclaimed TV series starring Sarah Michelle Gellar. I’m a big fan of the movie but I never quite got into the show. Years later, I’ve decided to finally try this cult classic. Luckily, I didn’t know much about it and was not spoiled for many details.

Buffy is kick-ass though it is difficult to believe she is 16 (SMG was 20) or that any of the creatures are real. Though there are moments of high tension, I always know that Buffy will be okay. Filled with cliches, cheesy lines and fighting that is slightly less believable than the WWF, the show is super corny. That being said, the story line is intriguing, the characters personable, and Angel is sexy. It’s nearly enough to trump the cheesiness. And while I find myself cracking up at 1997’s opinion of the internet (“I met him online.” “On line for what?”) I truly do want to see what happens next.

I might not be in a rush to watch each episode, but I guarantee that when Hulu releases season 2, I’ll add it to my queue.

I give it 6 stars!


One thought on “Buffy the Vampire Slayer (Season 1)

Leave a Reply

