Buffy the Vampire Slayer (season 2)

Standard

After watching Season 1 of “Buffy the Vampire Slayer,” I definitely wasn’t addicted, but I was certainly intrigued. This intrigue has only increased with the shocking ending of Season 2 (currently available on Hulu for a tiny bit longer). Season 2 Buffy has upped the game on Season 1; the villains are more dangerous, Angel is soulless, and there is a LOT more kissing. Cordelia and Xander strike up a surprising romance, Oz makes me fall in love with Seth Green all over again, David Boreanaz is even sexier, and Drusila and Spike drive me crazy. My only appreciation of Spike comes toward the end of the season where he has some of the wittiest lines in the show. While I’m still annoyed that vampires only seem to attack Buffy one at a time, slowly, and without any extraordinary strength, I’m also interested in seeing even further character development. The group has grown on me even more; almost enough so to ignore the many cheesy monsters!

Lately there have been rumors of a Buffy movie (based on the series and different from the 1992 movie) but apparently Joss Whedon does not plan to take part in it. Is a new movie a good idea? Would you see it? I imagine I’ll grumble because Joss isn’t directing and then I’ll go watch it anyway. I also predict that a whole lot of Buffy fanatics in their upper 20s will be very excited!

I give Season 2 of Buffy 7 stars!

Leave a Reply

